Work around "fake" umlauts

Hi, first off I’m an AppleScriptObjC newbie and have no idea of text encodings.

A user asked on another forum whether DEVONthink search hits could be accessed via AppleScript, unfortunately they can’t (although that’s planned since at least 4 years).

I found that would be very useful and started UI scripting, but the UI way it’s only possible to get one record’s hits at a time, meh. The idea of accessing more than one record caught me so I started to translate DEVONthink’s search syntax into regex (well aware that it probably causes issues with long PDFs) and that’s working surprisingly well, especially after I changed the part that gets a hit’s context from regex to substringWithRange. So I have a nice working script that gets a DEVONthink query, translates it into regex, searches in all selected records and writes the hits plus some context into a markdown record.

Short before I was ready to let other users test the script I realized how useful it would be to have a link from a record’s hit in the script output to the matched text in the record, which would allow to see the whole context with one click. It’s possible by appending the record’s reference URL with ?search= plus the escaped text.

That’s where the problem starts. There’s something “strange” going on (at least) with german umlauts: after some links didn’t work I discovered by accident that the text I manually copied for debugging actually didn’t include an umlaut ä but something else that looks like an umlaut.

As I can’t describe what’s going on I hope the demo script can

use AppleScript version "2.7"
use framework "Foundation"
use scripting additions

set theString to current application's NSString's stringWithString:("ä") -- correct umlaut "ä" 
set theString_Length to (theString's |length|) as integer --> 1

-- alphanumericCharacterSet
set theCharacterset to (current application's NSCharacterSet's alphanumericCharacterSet())