UI Scripting and macOS Montery sleep issue

I’ve been using UI Scripting with AppleScript for a few years, and have an app that works great under High Sierra though Big Sur, but was having issues under Monterey. What I have discovered is either a new security feature or UI scripting bug.

So under normal situations I can access UI Elements in apps just fine, however when the screensaver is active or the display is asleep, these elements are no longer accessible… I get an error stating that the element cannot be found. ei, “text 1 of group 2 of window 1 of application… etc.”

This not normal behavior on Big Sur or earlier.

Specifically my app reads Notification banners and alerts me of certain situations. At first I thought it was Notification center blocking access, but then I tried accessing an UI element on a window of an app that I also normally access but that also failed with an error. Again only when the screensaver was active or the display was asleep.

Anybody out there willing to confirm my findings? If this is a new feature if Monterey, then my app is doomed. Or I’ll have to work around it somehow. Ugh.

I cannot confirm general problems with UI-Scripting related to screensaver or sleeping display. I just did some testing with Safari in a repeat loop and didn’t notice any abnormalities during the screensaver.

However, I can confirm that there are significant issues or “changes” (especially with the ControlCenter) since the update to Monterey.

One example:

tell application "System Events"
	tell application process "ControlCenter"
		repeat with theElement in menu bar items of menu bar 1
			if (exists attribute "AXIdentifier" of theElement) then
				if value of attribute "AXIdentifier" of theElement = "com.apple.menuextra.wifi" then
					tell theElement
						perform action "AXPress"
					end tell
					log (count of entire contents of window 1)
					--> 0
					set theElements to entire contents of window 1
					log (count of theElements)
					--> 0