UI browser functionality

Hi: I’m a newbie to script debugger. It looks exactly what i need. I found the software through a forum stating that it has UI browser functionality. However, when i’m trying out the software, it doesn’t seem to have such functionality. I’m a bit confused. can someone point me to the correct documentation or tutorial? Thank you.

By UI browser functionality I mean the ability to browse through the UI elements of an open window and generate code that points to the element. I’m a bit new to applescript so I’m not sure if I used the correct terminology.

You’ve come to the right place. Below is copied and pasted from another thread, which describes how to access the UI actions.

In brief, the UI elements are found in Script Debugger Dictionary Explorer window, of the System Events app.

If needed I can go into more detail or post a movie.

This works for me (in Script Debugger and Script Editor):

tell application "Safari"
   activate
   tell application "System Events"
      tell its process "Safari"
         tell its menu bar 1
            tell its menu bar item "File"
               tell its menu "File"
                  click menu item "New Window"
                  click menu item 1
                  click menu item 2
                  click menu item 3
               end tell
            end tell
         end tell
      end tell
   end tell
end tell

FWIW, I built this script using Script Debugger’s dictionary explorer. To do this I opened the System Events dictionary, selected processes, found the Safari process (I had to click Show More a few times). Double clicking the Safari process opened it full in the window. I then clicked:
Menu bars> menu bar 1 > menu bar items>menu bar item file>menu items
(this would be much easier using UI Browser!)

I find it’s more reliable to use the names than the index, but both work.

You may need to add delays before the commands, but I didn’t need to.