Setting icon for an alias using applescript

I am creating an alias and setting an icon for that using the script below. The icon is being set for High Sierra but not on El Capitan.

I am totally new to Applescript, so no idea why this isn’t working for El Capitan.

use framework "Foundation"
use scripting additions
set ideContentsPath to ".../IDE/WebOSIDE.app/Contents" -- path of Contents folder which i replace at runtime from my java program
set ideExec to ideContentsPath & "/MacOS/WebOSIDE"
set sourceFile to (POSIX file ideExec)
tell application "Finder"
  set newAlias to (make new alias file at desktop to sourceFile) as alias
  set iconPath to ideContentsPath & "/Resources/WebOSIDE.icns" 
  my setIcon(newAlias,iconPath)
  set name of newAlias to "My Shortcut"
  duplicate newAlias to folder "my Dir" of folder "Applications" of startup disk
end tell
to setIcon(fileRef,iconPath)
  set iconImage to current application's NSImage's alloc's initWithContentsOfFile:iconPath
  current application's NSWorkspace's sharedWorkspace's setIcon:iconImage forFile:(POSIX path of fileRef) options:0
end setIcon

I need a solution which works across El Capitan to High Sierra.

Thanks

Try this.
You just need to replace the paths.

use AppleScript version "2.5"
use framework "Foundation"
use framework "AppKit"
use scripting additions

set sourceFolder to "/Applications/Safari.app/Contents"
set sourcePath to sourceFolder & "/MacOS/Safari"
set iconPath to sourceFolder & "/Resources/compass.icns"

set destPath to "/Applications/My Dir/My Shortcut"

set sourceURL to current application's NSURL's fileURLWithPath:sourcePath
set destURL to current application's NSURL's fileURLWithPath:destPath
set theOptions to ((current application's NSURLBookmarkCreationPreferFileIDResolution) as integer) + ((current application's NSURLBookmarkCreationSuitableForBookmarkFile) as integer)