Set record values in repeat loop

I’m self-taught in AppleScript, & hope I’m expressing this clearly.

I’m trying to assign record property values in a repeat loop as part of a larger script, but can’t figure out how to reference the property values consecutively:

global docNamePartsList, dateSetList

set yearFormat to 2
set dateSetList to {component:{|day|:missing value, |month|:missing value, |year|:missing value}, |string|:{"Day (1-31)", "Month (1-12)", "Year (2 or 4 digits)"}, format:{|day|:2, |month|:2, |year|:yearFormat}, limit:{31, 12, null}}

--UNCOMMENT THE VERSION I WANT TO USE
--set dateSetList to my SetNameAndDateFromUserInput()
--set dateSetList to my SetNameAndDateFromUserInput_v2()
set dateSetList to my SetNameAndDateFromUserInput_v3(component of dateSetList)

on SetNameAndDateFromUserInput()
	--WANT TO USE REPEAT LOOP TO SET ITEMS IN LIST TO USER-INPUT VALUES
	local n
	--n IS NUMERICAL REFERENCE TO LIST ITEM I WANT TO ADDRESS
	repeat with n from 1 to 3
		set item n of component of dateSetList to text returned of (display dialog "Enter " & (item n of |string| of dateSetList) default answer "") as number
	end repeat
	return dateSetList
end SetNameAndDateFromUserInput

but when I use numbers (item n of…) it throws an error:

Can’t set item 1 of {|day|:missing value, |month|:missing value, |year|:missing value} to 3

BUT it has no trouble reading a number reference (item n of |string| of dateSetList) for the prompt in the dialog. The dialog displays with the prompt as specified & lets me enter the value. If I skip over the error & move on to the next iteration, the next |string| value displays, as expected.

I thought maybe the nested lists were causing a problem, so I tried jumping through increasingly convoluted hoops; first, breaking up into the individual lists:

on SetNameAndDateFromUserInput_v2()
	local i, n
	--i IS THE SUB-LIST BEING ADDRESSED
	--n IS NUMERICAL REFERENCE TO SUB-LIST ITEM I WANT TO ADDRESS
	set i to component of dateSetList