Script Library Problem

My scripts cannot find handler scripts located in the Script Libraries folder. Given the following handler placed in the ~/Library/Script Libraries folder titled My Library:

on formatDate(dateToConvert)
	set {year:y, month:m, day:d} to dateToConvert
	tell (y * 10000 + m * 100 + d) as string to text 1 thru 4 & "-" & text 5 thru 6 & "-" & text 7 thru 8
end formatDate

Every attempt to call this handler fails with the 1708 error “«script» doesn’t understand the “formatDate” message.” "

Here are some of my scripts calling this handler:

use AppleScript version "2.8"
use scripting additions
set todaysDate to current date
use myLib : script "My Library"
myLib's formatDate(todaysDate)
use scripting additions --With or without this line
tell script "My Library"
	formatDate(todaysDate)
end tell
use scripting additions --With or without this line
script "My Library"'s formatDate(todaysDate)

…and many more. I am a bit new to Applescript and I have read dozens of on line pages and two books. I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong with this code. Some hwelp would be appreciated. Paying ahead: Thanx!

First thing I’d do is change the name of that handler and try again.

Thanx Shane… Alas, been there, done that…

Any time you change your library script you need to recompile the script calling it.

Sometimes you need to quit and relaunch Script Debugger (that’s the case with library scripts with dictionaries, at least).

I understand Ed. However, I have re-compiled many times, forced quit on the script editor many times, moved the library file to the system library script libraries folder, even upgraded MacOS to version 13 Ventura. This situation has been plaguing me for weeks. Nothing I do seems to help.

What happens if you put all you use statements together? I’m not sure it’s a good idea to mingle other code in there, like all your examples do.

Sorry Shane… I’ve been there too.

Unless you mean something other than this:

use scripting additions