Importing or placing styled text in an inDesign story

Way way back in the day (Mac OS9) I was able to do this with both Quark and inDesign, but I can’t figure out how to do it with inDesign now, and all the scripting samples I can find are javascript (which I’m not good at) and don’t really cover this.

In short I have a cell in a table that gets text. Once the text is in place there are as many as four separate style changes in the text.

What I’m doing now is placing the text, then making they style changes. I works but it’s slow. (A typical table has around 1000 cells).

What I’m hoping to do is something like this:

set myTaggedText to "<titleTag>ProgramTitle </titleTag><descTag>Program Description. </descTag> <ratingTag> Program rating </ratingTag> <captionTag> program caption /<captionTag> <timeTag>programTime</timeTag>"

set contents of myTablesCell to myTaggedText

Or, if I must, save the tagged text to disc and import it from the file.

Any suggestions?

→ Script Debugger 8.0.3 (8A49)
→ MacOS 11.6.2
–>Adobe InDesign 2022 17.01

Use nested styles. This is the sort of thing they’re designed for.

I use an external tagged text file and place it in the text frame.

1 Like

Hi. When I do this, I have all of the paragraph, character, etc, styles defined in the document, and then generate a tagged text file (out of an FMP database) that creates and styles the table itself, and creates and styles the cell contents, all upon import of the tagged text file.

I would love to see a sample of both of those!

Nested styles could work, but the text has no delimiter characters and don’t have a set number of characters.

Can you use regular expressions? Or just have your script insert (non-printing) delimiter characters?

I think I could use non printing characters, but I don’t know anything about them.

I could use GREP but I don’t see how that would help.

There’s actually an end nested style character you can insert.