Getting Media Item properties from Photos

AppleScript novice here. Trying to get some information from an image in Photos to populate some attributes in Tinderbox.

This is what I’ve got so far:

use AppleScript version "2.4" -- Yosemite (10.10) or later
use scripting additions

tell application "Photos"
	set currentSelection to the selection
	if currentSelection is {} then error number -28
	--tell currentSelection
	set PhotoCaption to description of currentSelection
	--	set PhotoDate to date
	set PhotoTitle to name of currentSelection
	set PhotoFileName to filename of currentSelection
	set PhotoID to id of currentSelection
	--end tell
end tell

The lines commented out don’t make any difference. The script always returns the same error:

“Can’t get description of {media item id “7F30275C-031C-4E00-BFCB-FA8C49135A1D/L0/001” of application “Photos”}.”

The “description” property of a Media Item in Photos is the photo caption. If you comment out description, the next property fails as well.

You can get these properties if you place the photo in an album and do something like this:

use AppleScript version "2.4" -- Yosemite (10.10) or later
use scripting additions

tell its album "Blog"
		tell its media item "Tomatillos"
			set theDescription to description
			set theTitle to name
		end tell
	end tell
end tell

tell application "Tinderbox 9"
	tell note "blog" of front document
		set value of (attribute named "Text") to theDescription
		set value of (attribute named "Name") to theTitle
	end tell
end tell

Mark Anderson did this for me, posted it at the Tinderbox Forum, and I’ve verified it works, but it’s not suitable for what I’m trying to accomplish.

I don’t wish to create a unique album and specify the photo by name each time, I think I should be able to just operate on the selection.

Clearly, there’s something I’m missing. Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Dave Rogers