Editor for Dictionary Files (.sdef)

I would appreciate hearing from those of you who create Dictionaries the software you use to create the xml file. I am new to creating Dictionaries. I expect that an xml editor would be preferable to a simple text editor, such as TextEdit.

Thanks!

The one I’m using is a bit old but still working (at least on Hight Sierra…).
I’m using it right now!

Sdef Editor

:wink:

Jonas: thank you for replying. I came across Sdef Editor - in fact, it is the only program specifically for editing sdef file I encountered. Unfortunately, it does not run on macOS 11 as it is 32 bit.

Sdef Editor is open source, with the last contribution made a 3 years ago. Some enterprising person could try building it with a modern version of Xcode :wink:.

1 Like

I actually wrote one as part of ASObjC Explorer. In the end, though, I found it easier to use BBEdit. I just start with an existing file open and copy-and-paste bits as I need them, then edit them to suit. It’s useful to have the man page for sdef(5) open, too.

2 Likes

It’s easy for you because you know exactly what you’re doing.
But for [beginners] scripters who are not developers, the XML structure of a SDEF file is way over too complex.

I’m sure there’s a place for a paid application in the Applescript community.
We just need a good tuto to understand the benefits of using libraries and how much adding to them dictionary file is a must and very easy to do (if you have the good tool!).

1 Like

I’d probably argue that unless you plan to distribute them to others, there’s not a lot of point.

It’s one of those things that I don’t really remember. But if you start from an existing dictionary, cut-and-paste does make it relatively painless. You want a command, you look for a command, hopefully with a similar number of parameters, and you cut and edit.

I suspect it needs more than that, if @tempelmann’s issue shown in the depository still holds.