Can SD step into handlers in loaded .scpt files

Hi,
I’m new to Script Debugger, I recently downloaded version 8.0.8 to try out. I have an AppleScript based application that consists of four separate script file, the main file loads the other three. I can’t get Script Debugger to step into a handler in any of the loaded script files. Is this supported?

Thanks,
Colin.

Alas, no – AppleScript doesn’t allow it.

Hi Shane,
Thanks for getting back to me. That’s disappointing because it would be an incredibly useful feature.

Stating the obvious, just in case…

I work around it by debugging in a single file and using SD’s window splitting to view different sections simultaneously. It’d be nice of SD’s split panes were themselves scriptable, but so far as I know, no such class exists.

Hey Bryan, thanks for the reply. I see why you would choose that but it makes more sense for me to make my application modular. I run a small, one man, business and used AppleScript to automate my client registration and invoicing. I have a main module that orchestrates things and that calls sub modules. There are three sub modules dedicated to controlling the Numbers app, the Contacts app and the Mail app respectively. I will probably extend it by adding modules to control the Calendar app and Zoom. I think I would find it hard to maintain this as a monolithic file. I’d be compromising modularity, and therefore maintainability and reliability, to accommodate a shortcoming in the debugger.
I like SD for what it does but, at $99 and that not including major releases, I think this omission might be a deal breaker. Or is that cutting of my nose to spite my face? :thinking: