Assistive Access - Strange Behaviour

I’m new to this tool and to the forum; my apologies if I’m bringing up a known problem.

I have an Applescript that uses assistive access. It works under Script Editor. OSX behaves very oddly after I give Script Debugger Assistive Access.

I’ve been through this rather amusing cycle 5 or 6 times, the first couple of times I couldn’t believe my eyes.

• In System Preferences I give Script Debugger Assistive Access.
  • After locking “Security and Privacy” I double check - yup, the box is checked.
  • I run Apple Script with Script Debugger.
  • About halfway through, Script Debugger halts with this error message: “Script debugger is not allowed assistive access”
  • I triple check System Preferences> Privacy> Assistive Access and whaddyaknow - the check box for Sript Debugger is now unchecked!!

The code where the crash occurs is this:

tell application "System Events"
	tell application process theAppName
		set frontmost to true
		set AppUI to UI elements
		if debugLevel ≥ 2 then log {"App UI", AppUI}
	end tell
end tell

I’ve tried setting assistive access from both user and admin accounts, same results.

Any ideas how to proceed?
(OSX 10.12.6 on a late 2015 iMac, Script Debugger 7)

Is Script Debugger in your ?Applications folder? Do you have more than one version on your Mac?

Is System Integrity Protection disabled on your mac?

You can check from Terminal:

csrutil status

Scrip Debugger is recently upgraded, it is in the Applications folder and the only version present

SIP is enabled. I haven’t changed this setting since upgrading to 10.12.6 a few months ago. I’ll experiment wit disabling this and rebooting when I get home from work.

No, I wasn’t suggesting that you disable it at all.