Is it possible to call javascript from AppleScript?

Hi, I’m new on this forum, so maybe a short introduction. I’m not new to programming, but I’m new to AppleScript. I’ve used OS X for 10+ years, and I also made an iPhone app, but never got around to use AppleScript. I must say, I’m amazed a lot of times. Now to my question:

Is it possible to call from my applescript code to call in someway some javascript code? I’ve tried creating a scripting library in javascript (created in Script Editor, and choose language JavaScript), but I only managed to call it from another JavaScript-script. Calling from AppleScript fails…

I also tried run script some_alias_to_my_js_file in "JavaScript" and this works, but as soon as I want to pass parameters like run script some_alias_to_my_js_file with parameters {"isPcNrToev"} in "JavaScript" it fails with error -4960. The javascript contains the code function(args) { return 42; }.

I’d really like to call some JavaScript from my AppleScript, since I know it well and it can do some handy things (think regular expressions). I also prefer a Scripting Library, because then I can have multiple functions in one file…

Any ideas?

This probably not what you want, but just in case . . .

I have found that you can call handlers in an AppleScript Script Library from a JXA script. Load the AppleScript Script Library just like you would a JXA library.

@alldritt, it would be totally awesome if Script Debugger would also support JXA scripts. I don’t know about anyone else, but I would be more than willing to pay 2X for a SD that supports both.

I don’t think there’s a way using run script – that’s only going to call the run() function anyway. But it can be done using AppleScriptObjC.

So here’s a simple script saved as a script library in JSTest.scpt:

function doIt(arg1, arg2) { 
	return arg1 + arg2; 
}