How to simply change text color in Keynote

Hello Script Debugger Community!

I just discovered Script Debugger from reading AppleScript 1-2-3! Oh my gosh, I can’t wait to learn this program. However, I have recently decided to dive into AppleScript because I use Keynote every day for work and I am getting tired of doing so many repetitive tasks. It’s time to automate!

I was wondering if you could help me get started with the most frustrating: font color changes! I am a WordPress developer trying to get a grasp of the basics of AppleScript, and I am used to hex codes not…whatever AppleScript uses to determine color codes.

Here is what I need help with: I need to create a script I can fire after I select some text that changes the color of the font to orange.

1. The hex code for the color I need is #FF9300, but I don’t know how to write that same color in an AppleScript-friendly fashion
  2. I don’t know how to properly write the script in the first place. Do I need to set variables?

I have begun to take a crack at the script, but it doesn’t work (because I have no idea what I am doing) and I would love some help. Thanks so much!

property orangeText : {255, 147, 0}
tell application "Keynote" activate 
set the color of word of object text to orangeText 
end tell```

Excited to learn from this awesome community. Thanks for being kind to the newbies!

Bodie

Bodie,

Welcome. Hopefully someone who regularly scripts Keynote will come along shortly. I was going to point you to a useful Web site, but unfortunately it seems to be down at the moment.

Here are a couple of pointers:

• Keynote has no accessible concept of the selection. Apart from using GUI scripting, that makes your request difficult to fill.

• The RGB color values generally used by AppleScript range from 0 to 65535, which is 256 * 256 - 1.

• You can’t use a class like word as the target of your command – you need to target a specific word. So something like this works: