Create getter / setter snippet

Hi,

I’d like to create a getter / setter from a variable with a snippet.

Is it possible ?

Thx.

Can you give us an example of what you are trying to accomplish?

A snippet can certainly generate a pair of handlers (eg. getter and setter), and linked-tags allow an edit in one tag (eg. related names) can be applied to other parts of the snippet.

For example, create a property myProperty : « myValue », select it and invoke a snippet to create a method to get this property like on getMyProperty() return myProperty.

Thx.

Is there some reason you need accessor methods for a property?

Well, for example I have a String lib which contains a uc special chars string (like a constant) :
property ucChars : “AÄÁÀÂÃÅĂĄÆBCÇĆČDĎĐEÉÈÊËĚĘFGHIÍÌÎÏJKLĹĽŁMNÑŃŇ” & ¬
“OÖÓÒÔÕŐØPQRŔŘSŞŠŚTŤŢUÜÚÙÛŮŰVWXYÝZŽŹŻÞ”

Instead of copy it in my script, I’d like to access it. But I don’t know every AppleScript tricks (I used to be a Flash dev during many years) and maybe there is another way ?

Thx.

The simplest way is to use the my keyword:

character 1 of my ucChars

Similarly setting:

set my ucChars to "thisIsAnUglyAndFragileWayOfChangingCase"

Would something like this suffice?

use AppleScript version "2.4" -- Yosemite (10.10) or later
use scripting additions

set theChars to "AÄÁÀÂÃÅĂĄÆBCÇĆČDĎĐEÉÈÊËĚĘFGHIÍÌÎÏJKLĹĽŁMNÑŃŇ
OÖÓÒÔÕŐØPQRŔŘSŞŠŚTŤŢUÜÚÙÛŮŰVWXYÝZŽŹŻÞ"

(*following 3 lines return a comma delimited list*)
set {saveTID, AppleScript's text item delimiters} to {AppleScript's text item delimiters, ","}
set theList to items of theChars 
set AppleScript's text item delimiters to saveTID

set myChar to (choose from list theList) as text -- StandardAdditions.osax

Well, not sure to understand…

My property property ucChars : “AÄÁÀÂÃÅĂĄÆBCÇĆČDĎĐEÉÈÊËĚĘFGHIÍÌÎÏJKLĹĽŁMNÑŃŇ” & ¬
“OÖÓÒÔÕŐØPQRŔŘSŞŠŚTŤŢUÜÚÙÛŮŰVWXYÝZŽŹŻÞ” is in a lib “Script A” and I’d like to use it in “Script B” like :
on run
tell script “Script A”
log (ucChars) – does not work
end tell
end run