Retrieving Spotlight metadata

Shane,

I was trying to get the kMDItemPixelHeight and kMDItemPixelWidth metadata for downloaded you tube videos. But I was never able to figure out how to do it. The script below shows what I was doing. But now matter what I put for the first argument in the MDItemCreateWithURL call I always got an “unrecognized selector sent to object” error. I included a sample of the error below.

-[BAGenericObjectNoDeleteOSAID MDItemCreateWithURL:]: unrecognized selector sent to object <BAGenericObjectNoDeleteOSAID @0x7fe04f6a55c0: OSAID(8) ComponentInstance(0x810017)>

I’ve never used CoreServices before so perhaps there is some trick to this I don’t know about. I left the first 4 tries in to get this line to work in the script. But I tried a ton of different things. The first 4 were just the only one’s I thought might actually work. The rest were just guesses. I also left the last line in as this is what I planning to do to get the desired metadata value. I left it in there in case I have done that wrong as well. I never got far enough to test that line.

I did try use framework “CoreFoundation” first, then tried use framework “CoreServices” and then a a few million other framework name variations.

Can you save my poor little sick script? I’m hoping the ASObj-C doctor can fix it :slight_smile:

use AppleScript version "2.4" -- Yosemite (10.10) or later
use scripting additions
use framework "Foundation"
use framework "CoreServices"

set TheURL to current application's NSURL's URLWithString:" /Volumes/Video disk/Military stuff/NEW TECHNOLOGY | Russian military NASTY SUPPRISE for US military #MIND BLOW.mp4"
-- set MDItem to MDItemCreateWithURL(missing value, TheURL)
-- set MDItem to MDItemCreateWithURL((missing value), TheURL)
-- set MDItem to MDItemCreateWithURL_(missing value, TheURL)
set MDItem to MDItemCreateWithURL(current application's kCFAllocatorDefault, TheURL)
-- MDItemCopyAttribute(MDItem, kMDItemFinderComment)

Bill